Archive for May 26, 2020

Tuesday, May 26, 2020 [Tweets] [Favorites]

Jailbreaking for iOS Developers

Peter Steinberger:

Jailbreaking has a bad taste because it can be used to pirate apps. But there are many other, much more noble or interesting reasons why it’s worth exploring, like enhancing accessibility[…]

This is a great collection of apps, tweaks, and links.

Previously:

Update (2020-05-28): Craig Grannell:

Reading this and thinking about the changes in iOS in recent years, Apple still banning emulators from the App Store seems asinine.

Sublime Merge 2

Dylan Johnston (Hacker News):

  • Repository-Level Tabs - use tabs to quickly navigate between multiple repositories
  • Upgraded Commit UI - focus on what’s important with an upgraded commit UI
  • Flexible Layouts - adapt the layout to fit your context and workflow
  • Hardware Acceleration - harness your device's power with OpenGL rendering

I love how fast this app is and the way it shows diffs with intra-line changes, syntax coloring/styles (albeit not for Swift), and the name of the modified function. I use it sometimes for searching and browsing a file’s history. But I haven’t been able to get used to it for regular daily Git use. The keyboard navigation between and within panes is weird. I can’t batch-select uncommitted files. Page Up/Down doesn’t work in the diff pane.

Previously:

Phantom App Updates, Part 2

Eric Slivka:

Over the past few hours, a number of MacRumors readers have reported seeing dozens or even hundreds of pending app updates showing in the App Store on their iOS devices, including for many apps that were already recently updated by the users. In many cases, the dates listed on these new app updates extend back as far as ten days.

Jeff Johnson (tweet):

These were not new versions of the apps submitted by the developers but rather re-releases of the current versions, modified somehow by Apple. […] It has been speculated that these new releases are to fix a recent issue plaguing iOS users that prevents them from opening their installed apps. Instead, they see an alert that says “This app is no longer shared with you. To use it, you must buy it from the App Store.”

[…]

Sure enough, the Apple iPhone OS Application Signing certificate expired on May 20, 2020 at 9:04:15 PM Central Daylight Time. I searched “social media”, and the first reference I found to the current batch of “This app is no longer shared with you” errors was on May 21. What an incredible coincidence!

Previously:

Public Triplebyte Profiles

Ammon Bartram:

Now, you can use your Triplebyte credentials on and off the platform. Just like LinkedIn, your profile will be publicly accessible with a dedicated URL that you can share anywhere (job applications, LinkedIn, GitHub, etc). When you do well on a Triplebyte assessment, your profile will showcase that achievement (we won’t show your scores publicly). Unlike LinkedIn, we aim to become your digital engineering skills resume — a credential based on actual skills, not pedigree.

The new profiles will be launching publicly in 1 week. This is a great opportunity to update your profile with your latest experience and preferences. You can edit your profile privacy settings to not appear in public search engines at any time.

In other words, you have less than a week to opt out if you don’t want your information to be public. But it apparently takes 30 days for the change to be processed.

Ammon Bartram:

You came to us with the goal of landing a great software engineering job. As part of that, you entrusted us with your personal, sensitive information, including both the fact that you are job searching as well as the results of your assessments with us. Launching a profile feature that would automatically make any of that data public betrayed that trust.

[…]

What I will do now is slow down, take a step back, and learn the lessons I need to avoid repeating this.

Netflix Stops Charging Inactive Customers

BBC (via Hacker News):

The company said the notifications would be sent to those people who signed up with a credit card or other payment method, but have not watched anything in the year since signing up.

It will do the same for other users who have been paying for the service, but have not watched anything in the past two years.

Users with dormant accounts will receive a notification asking if they want to continue with their subscription, and those who do not respond will have their account cancelled.

And your data is preserved if you resubscribe later. Bravo.

goodside:

Years ago, I heard of a dating site doing the opposite of this. They normally sent periodic digests and newsletters to their users to try to increase engagement, but if a user went a certain number of months without logging into their account, but still allowed monthly fees to be charged, they were labeled as a “sleeping giant” in the database. Once in this state, they would not be contacted by the site for any reason until they logged in again by their own initiative. The site had determined that, on average, contacting these users had a net-negative effect on retention — i.e., they would be reminded that they were paying for an unused service and cancel.

Previously: