Thursday, July 28, 2022 [Tweets] [Favorites]

Ventura Notifies User of New Login Items

Thomas Clement:

wow so now Apple is going to use my personal name in user notifications to tell users I’m personally installing login items on their machine. I think there’s a difference between the app (that users voluntarily install) doing things and me doing things. That’s… very wrong.

macOS seems to have gotten his name from the code signature on his app. The notification is a potentially useful feature, but it would be better if it reported the name of the app that added the login item. The user doesn’t have a good way of finding the app that corresponds to the reported developer name. Also, showing the developer’s name is especially confusing in the case of an indie developer, where it shows a personal name rather than the name of a company. The notification makes it look like a hacker named “Thomas” broke into your Mac.

Rich Siegel:

This is really terrible UX, and if you see it while testing macOS 13 please report it as a bug.

6 Comments

“App name X signed by publisher Y” would be better. Even that would be confusing because the app name may not be familiar to the user. Chrome’s auto updater is Keystone so even “Keystone published by Google” would be confusing to people.

From using BlockBlock I know these don’t just happen when the app is first installed. It may happen when selecting “open at start up” in preferences but at least that is tied to a user taking an action. More concerning is that auto updating apps can add them in the middle of you doing something else when they happen to update themselves. Dropbox for example will do it when it updates.

> The notification is a potentially useful feature.

It will be really useful when Apple will:
- post these notifications to notify the end user of all the Apple services/daemons that are running without the user knowledge.
- allow end users to disable all the Apple services/daemons (such as the iTunes, Photos, Spotlight, Ubiquity, etc. daemons) that are running without their knowledge or consent.

Someone (not the one above)

There's always an irony to bad Apple UX, that Apple's UI / UX evangelists were recently posting to twitter about how to get in contact with Apple, to get UI / UX advice to make their apps "better".

There's some real Dunning-Kruger effect going on at Cupertino.

I remember having the same problem with new KEXTs being installed. The security system preferences would show some developers name and the only option was to "allow" or ignore the whole thing. Using Google helped but it's still a super frustrating experience.

This is par for the course with Apple now. Are any of the people designing and implementing these features giving it the slightest bit of thought? It's Apple's OS. There's no excuses for not being able to do the right thing.

Can someone make sure right click and choose "Open" still works for an unsigned app?

What happens if an unsigned app installs a login item (that's unsigned, I guess?)

Stay up-to-date by subscribing to the Comments RSS Feed for this post.

Leave a Comment