Friday, May 13, 2022 [Tweets] [Favorites]

iCloud Drive Folder Sharing Risks Data Loss

Adam Engst:

Today’s target is the discovery that when collaborators in an iCloud Drive shared folder delete files or folders, those items are destroyed instantaneously, not put in the Trash or added to iCloud Drive’s Recently Deleted folder. They’re just gone, with no option for recovery. If that’s not bad enough—and it is—Apple has recently tweaked its already weak documentation in a way that further conceals this dangerous implementation.

Previously:

1 Comment

I think this misses the point a bit. The problem is that iCloud doesn’t offer versioned backup for your files. That there is no trash seems like the wrong thing to complain about. That would just be a band aid.

Stay up-to-date by subscribing to the Comments RSS Feed for this post.

Leave a Comment