Thursday, October 9, 2014 [Tweets] [Favorites]

iOS 8 “Reset All Settings” Bug Erases iCloud Drive Documents

Juli Clover:

The “Reset All Settings” option explicitly says that “No data or media will be deleted,” and it is meant to reset all user preferences to the default out-of-the-box settings. That the option is deleting iCloud Drive documents appears to be a serious bug, though it may be limited to Apple’s own iWork apps like Pages, Keynote, and Numbers. One user had all of his iWork documents wiped by using “Reset All Settings,” while other app information remained in iCloud.

In our own testing, using “Reset All Settings” deleted all iWork documents stored in iCloud Drive on the iPhone and on iCloud.com. After allowing time for syncing to a Mac running OS X Yosemite, all of the documents disappeared from that machine as well. Preview and TextEdit documents, which cannot be accessed on the iPhone, remained untouched on the Mac.

4 Comments

“It just works.”™

Just not as you would …

"It just works.”™ Just not as you would …"

I believe that is the official motto for all of Apple's online services.

I found that Reset All Settings also deleted 18 months worth of language flash cards from Pleco app synced via iCloud. Pleco staff confirmed this happened to others too.

[…] This sounds like it will impact you if you use the Reset All Settings.  Not sure when this will be fixed.  Good thing that Reset All Settings is not a typical thing to do! […]

Stay up-to-date by subscribing to the Comments RSS Feed for this post.

Leave a Comment