Apple Creator Studio Icons
A comparison between the original icons, the pre–Creator Studio icons, and the non–Creator Studio icons.
I have to wonder whether the Numbers icon expresses the designer’s disdain for Liquid Glass or the community’s criticism of it.
It looks like it’s giving the finger.
I thought that the new Creator Studio icons would have a light mode variant. You know, cause Apple has spent a few years talking about making icon variants.
Nope, it uses the same icon in both modes and it looks weird in light mode.
So, even after you pay (I’m in the trial period), the Creator Studio exclusive features stick out with a purple highlight in the toolbar.
apple clearly listened to your feedback that menu icons should use colour to distinguish them
Apple: “Use a single icon to introduce a group of similar items”
Also Apple:
Previously:
- Apple Creator Studio Now Shipping
- Apple Creator Studio
- Icons in Menus Everywhere
- Tahoe’s Terrible Icons
4 Comments RSS · Twitter · Mastodon
Along with everything else wrong with these new Creator Studio icons, the contrast on each icon is horrendous.
E.g. the Pages icon is a dark orange background with a just slightly lighter orange pencil glyph.
How is this supposed to be easily recognisable? Just look for the dark coloured murky orange mess when you want to start writing?
It's not supposed to "be easily recognisable". You seem to be mistakenly thinking that being useful is at all important to them. What's important is that the icons *look* cool, and uniform. The fact that this makes things harder to use doesn't matter. They don't care about that. That was old Apple, decades ago by now.
I don't think I understand what these icons are supposed to represent. Compressor looks like a mouth. Motion looks like it's spelling out an inappropriate word. Logic is a DVD Player, MainStage is a new interface builder. Numbers is as described, and Pages appears to be a crayon or marker. Oh and Pixelmator is for icon design?
@bob
The icons certainly don’t look cool. They look low effort and unprofessional
I’m not surprised if Tim Cook thinks they look cool though, because he may be one of the least cool people on the planet. That tracks.