Friday, May 30, 2014

How Google’s New “Right To Be Forgotten” Form Works

Danny Sullivan:

The form allows an individual or someone representing an individual to put in a request. The form requires submission of a photo ID of the individual the request is for.

[…]

The form then allows people to list one or more URLs they want removed, and they have to provide an explanation about why they want them dropped. In particular, you have to explain why each URL is “irrelevant, outdated, or otherwise inappropriate,” wording that goes back to the original court ruling about why material can be removed.

[…]

Google itself tells Search Engine Land that removals won’t pull a URL out of Google worldwide. Instead, if a removal is approved, the URL will be dropped for searches on the associated name from all the EU-specific versions of Google that the company maintains.

[…]

Google tells us that will show disclosure when URLs are removed under the new Right To Be Forgotten method in a manner similar to above. In other words, while the URL itself is forgotten, the fact that Google was made to forget it will be remembered.

Update (2014-06-05): Brian S. Hall:

To make sense of the right-to-be-forgotten issue—including how it potentially impacts Web users—here’s a look at some questions you may have about the European court’s decision.

Comments

Stay up-to-date by subscribing to the Comments RSS Feed for this post.

Leave a Comment